COVID-19 response - click here to learn more, including changes to Council Services COVID-19 Community Information Page
New Council By-Laws now in place

​Councils in South Australia are able to establish by-laws under the Local Government Act 1999. By-laws are local laws established by councils that are specific to issues in the local area. Adelaide Hills Council has seven by-laws, updates of which came into effect on Monday 10 December 2018.

By-law No. 1: Permits and Penalties
By-law No. 2: Moveable Signs
By-law No. 3: Local Government Land
By-law No. 4: Roads
By-law No. 5: Dogs
By-law No. 6: Cats

Details of all of these by-laws are available on our Delegations and By-Laws webpage.

A consultation of amendments to Council's by-laws was conducted across the region from 18 May to 9 June 2018 online and at community information sessions during this period. Community feedback was incorporated into the final proposal, which was adopted by Council on 24 July 2018.

Any questions about Council's by-laws can be directed to our Rangers via 8408 0400.

By-Laws now in place