In Attendance

Presiding Member: Mayor Jan-Claire Wisdom

Members:

Ranges Ward	
Councillor Ian Bailey	
Councillor Nathan Daniell	
Councillor John Kemp	
Councillor Leith Mudge	
Councillor Mark Osterstock	
Councillor Kirsty Parkin	
Valleys Ward	
Councillor Pauline Gill	
Councillor Chris Grant	
Councillor Linda Green	
Councillor Malcolm Herrmann	
Councillor Andrew Stratford	

In Attendance:

Andrew Aitken	Chief Executive Officer
Terry Crackett	Director Corporate Services
Peter Bice	Director Infrastructure & Operations
Marc Salver	Director Development & Regulatory Services
David Waters	Director Community Capacity
Lachlan Miller	Executive Manager Governance & Performance
Steven Watson	Governance & Risk Coordinator
Pam Williams	Minute Secretary

1. COMMENCEMENT

The special meeting commenced at 8.02pm.

1.1 Brief Adjournment of Special Meeting

Moved Cr Ian Bailey S/- Cr Chris Grant

313/18

That the meeting be adjourned at 8.04pm for the duration of the SA Planning System presentation.

Carried Unanimously

The Special Council Meeting resumed at 8.44pm.

2. OPENING STATEMENT

"Council acknowledges that we meet on the traditional lands of the Peramangk and Kaurna people and we recognise their connection with the land.

We understand that we do not inherit the land from our ancestors but borrow it from our children and in this context the decisions we make should be guided by the principle that nothing we do should decrease our children's ability to live on this land".

3. APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

3.1 Apology

Cr Kirrilee Boyd

3.2 Leave of Absence

Nil

3.3 Absent

Nil

8.45pm Cr Grant attended the meeting

4. DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

As detailed later in the Meeting against the relevant item.

8.46pm Cr Parkin attended the Meeting.

5. BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

5.1 Appointment of Council Member to Council's Assessment Panel (CAP) and Selection Panel for appointment of Independent Members to CAP – Terms of Reference and Voting

Moved Cr Malcolm Herrmann S/- Cr Nathan Daniell

314/18

That Council resolves:

- 1. That the report be received and noted.
- 2. To determine to retain the current Terms of Reference for the Council Assessment Panel, specifically for it to comprise one (1) member of the Council and (4) Independent Members.
- 3. To determine that the method of selecting the Council Members to be appointed to the Council Assessment Panel to be by an indicative vote utilising the process set out in this Agenda report.
- 4. To adjourn the Council meeting for the purposes of seeking nominations for and, if necessary, conducting an indicative vote to determine the preferred persons for the Council Assessment Panel Council Member roles and for the meeting to resume once the results of the indicative vote have been declared.

Carried Unanimously

8.50pm The Special Council meeting adjourned 9.00pm The Special Council meeting resumed

9.02pm Cr Linda Green declared a Material Conflict of Interest as she will receive a pecuniary benefit and left the Chamber.

9.02pm Cr Leith Mudge declared a Material Conflict of Interest as he will receive a pecuniary benefit and left the Chamber.

5.1.1 Appointment of Council Member to Council's Assessment Panel (CAP) and Selection Panel for appointment of Independent Members to CAP – Appointment to Panel

315/18

That Council resolves to appoint Cr Linda Green as Member and Cr Leith Mudge as Deputy Member of the Council Assessment Panel for a 24 month term to commence 4 December 2018 and conclude on 3 December 2020 (inclusive).

Cr Grant, with the consent of Cr Bailey, sought and was granted leave of the meeting to vary the motion as follows.

That Council resolves to appoint Cr Linda Green as Member and Cr Leith Mudge as Deputy Member of the Council Assessment Panel for a 17 month term to commence 4 December 2018 and conclude on 30 May 2020 (inclusive).

Carried Unanimously

9.06pm Cr Green & Cr Mudge returned to the Chamber

5.1.2 Appointment of Council Member to Council's Assessment Panel (CAP) and Selection Panel for appointment of Independent Members to CAP – Expression of Interest for Independent Presiding Member

Moved Cr Kirsty Parkin S/- Cr Chris Grant

That Council resolves:

- 1. To commence an Expression of Interest process for an Independent Presiding Member and three (3) Independent Ordinary Members of the Council Assessment Panel with the following desired skills and knowledge in accordance with the draft Accredited Professionals Scheme (i.e. a person with relevant qualifications and a minimum of 2 years full time experience) and with the ability to become Accredited Professionals in accord with the aforementioned Scheme:
 - a) In relation to the Independent Presiding Member, qualifications in urban and regional planning to accord with Level 2 accreditation of the Accredited Professionals Scheme, and knowledge of the Adelaide Hills Council area

279

316/18

- b) In relation to the other three Independent Members, persons with knowledge of the Adelaide Hills Council area and qualifications in one or more of the following areas:
 - i) urban and regional planning
 - ii) architecture and design
 - iii) landscape architecture, and
 - iv) environmental management.

Carried Unanimously

5.1.3 Appointment of Council Member to Council's Assessment Panel (CAP) and Selection Panel for appointment of Independent Members to CAP – Appointment to Selection Panel for Independent Members

Moved Cr Chris Grant S/- Cr Ian Bailey

That Council resolves:

- 1. That the Mayor and Councillors John Kemp and Kirsty Parkin be appointed to a Council Assessment Panel Independent Member Selection Panel, assisted by the CEO and Director Development & Regulatory Services, to undertake the short-listing and interviews of the candidates with a view to selecting an Independent Presiding Member and three (3) Independent Ordinary Members.
- 2. That the Council Assessment Panel Independent Member Selection Panel report their recommendations to Council for approval by no later than April 2019.

Carried Unanimously

317/18

5.2 Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority (GRFMA) Audit Committee Registration of Interest – Nomination

Moved Cr Linda Green S/- Cr Pauline Gill

318/18

Council resolves:

- 1. That the report be received and noted.
- 2. That Council resolves to nominate Cr Malcolm Herrmann for the Gawler River Floodplain Management Authority Audit Committee.

Carried Unanimously

6. CLOSE MEETING

The Special Meeting closed at 9.20pm.