Council Election 2018

ELECTION UPDATE 19 November 2018, 11:29am

​We would like to thank everyone that took the time to send in their votes for this year's council elections. Out of your votes, the Electoral Commission of South Australia (ECSA) has made the formal declaration for all Council Members:

Mayor: Jan-Claire Wisdom

Ranges Ward:
Nathan Daniell
Kirrilee Boyd
Kirsty Parkin
Ian Bailey
John Kemp
Leith Mudge
Mark Osterstock

Valleys Ward:
Malcolm Herrmann
Andrew Stratford
Linda Green
Pauline Gill
Chris Grant

Scrutiny reports can be found on the ECSA website.

Authorised by A. Aitken, Chief Executive Officer, 63 Mt Barker Road Stirling

In 2017, Council completed an Elector Representation Review which examined the composition and structure of the representation arrangements which have been largely the same since the formation of the Council in 1997. The outcome of the review was a Council resolution to retain a popularly-elected Mayor and 12 Councillors and retain wards but reduce the number to two, being the Valleys Ward and the Ranges Ward. 

The Valleys Ward will be created by merging the existing Torrens Valley and Onkaparinga Valley wards into one ward with five councillors. The current Manoah, Mount Lofty and Marble Hill wards will be merged to form the Ranges Ward with seven councillors. Basket Range, Cherryville and Carey Gully localities, which were previously divided by ward boundaries, will be wholly within the Ranges Ward.

Click here to view the existing ward structure (pre-election).
Click here to view the new ward structure (in place from the 2018 election onwards).

The rules for local government elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, an Act of the South Australian Parliament. Click here to view the Act.

Authorised by: Andrew Aitken
Chief Executive Officer
PO Box 44
(08) 8408 0400