Skip to main content

Free Green Organics Drop Off Days

Green organic drop off days are one way that Council helps residents to prepare for bushfire danger season and maintain green organic waste on their property. Green organic waste will be turned into high quality mulch, soil and compost products.

Digger moving green organic waste image

To assist with fire prevention, Adelaide Hills Council offers a number of free green organic drop off days throughout the year. Residents are invited to drop off green organic waste to the prescribed locations on the dates scheduled below.

Outside of these dates, green organic waste can be disposed for a fee at the Heathfield Resource Recovery Centre.

Upcoming free green organics drop off days

Residents can drop green organics to the Heathfield Depot, Woodside Depot and Gumeracha Depot on the dates scheduled below.

Drop off locations are open 9:00am – 4:00pm on scheduled days.

Proof of residency is required.

Date Date
Wednesday 24 August 2022 Wednesday 12 October 2022
Saturday 27 August 2022 Saturday 12 November 2022
Saturday 10 September 2022 Sunday 13 November 2022
Sunday 11 September 2022 Wednesday 7 December 2022
Sunday 25 September 2022 Saturday 10 December 2022
Saturday 8 October 2022 Sunday 11 December 2022
Sunday 9 October 2022
Service will be cancelled if a catastrophic or extreme fire danger day is declared by the CFS.

Items that are accepted

Clean residential green organics including grass clippings, prunings, leaves, small branches (up to 100mm diameter). Loads are limited to a 7x5 trailer size (no limit to visits made).

Items that are not accepted

Commercial or truck loads of materials, waste or hard rubbish, and Declared or serious environmental weeds. Click here for a comprehensive list of organics that are not accepted. If you have access to a kerbside green organics bin the items listed in the document can be placed in there. Green bin waste is composted whereas material collected during drop off days is mulched.

Drop off locations

Subscribe to
stay up-to-date

Full Name